Back 

Year 2021 Tax Update

This comprehensive federal Tax Update will cover all new tax legislation, including a comprehensive review of the changes made by the American Rescue Plan Act, Consolidated Appropriations Act, Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, and Build Back Better America legislation proposed by the Biden administration; and other new regulations, cases, and rulings in all areas of federal taxation through October 15, 2021.

Learning Objectives

After completing this course the participant will be able to:

  • Discuss the 2021 significant changes for individuals, including the draft copy of the Form 1040 for 2021, the Kiddie Tax calculation, changes to the Earned Income Credit, Child Tax Credit, Child Care Credit, limitation on deductibility of losses under Section 461(l), as well as all 2021 inflation adjusted amounts.
  • Describe the options for distributions from qualified plans and IRAs and the effect on stretch IRAs as well as repayments for coronavirus-related distributions.
  • Explain new developments that affect S corporations, LLCs, and partnerships, including an update on the status of the SALT Parity Act, the use of Form 15254 for revoking a section 754 election, and proposed Form 7203 for tracking an S corporation shareholder's basis.
  • Summarize the most recent tax accounting provisions, including the latest guidance on deferring the recognition of income for advance payments for goods and services as well as the latest automatic method changes for filing a Form 3115.
  • Describe the latest changes affecting passive activity losses, including the rules that apply to real estate professionals, and applying the passive loss rules to an Airbnb or a VRBO.
  • Discuss the newly issued final regulations on the deductibility of entertainment expenses, business meals, travel meals, and meals related to an entertainment activity, as well as the guidance issued on meals provided by a restaurant.
  • Discuss the deduction under Section 199A for qualified business income and how to calculate the deduction and the problems that have been encountered by tax return preparers, including defining a specified service business, safe harbor test of Rev. Proc. 2019-38, alternative options to Rev. Proc. 2019-38, self leasing rules, and aggregation rules, as well as the changes to Section 199A for 2022.
  • Describe the latest developments on depreciation; bonus depreciation, Section 179 deduction, qualified improvement property, how to treat QIP placed in service in 2018 and 2019, and the 2021 definition of a luxury auto.
  • Discuss the current status of the return preparer rules, e-filing requirements, and PTINs, including the pending changes for tax return preparers who are not enrolled agents, CPAs, or attorneys.
  • Describe the latest developments in IRS procedures and practices, including Circular 230.
  • Discuss the recent changes in the estate and gift tax rules, including SLATs and the pending reduction in the estate and gift exemption amount.
  • Discuss recent developments in employment and self-employment tax, as well as the forthcoming changes in 2022 for the 3.8% tax on Net Investment Income as well as the status of having all S corporation income from a trade or business treated as self-employment income.
Mark A. Vogel

Mark Vogel

Janine Guillen

Janine Guillen

Isaac Lodico

Isaac Lodico

Mark Merric

Mark Merric

Claire O'Neal

Claire O'Neal

The Year 2021 Tax Update seminar will be taught online Nov. 2021-January 2022 (and in person in selected locations in January). Scroll down to see the grid of when each instructor is teaching ONLINE.

For details on how AES Internet courses work, please see the Internet Courses page. You can type in questions that the instructor will answer during the seminar, but only the instructor is seen or heard online.

The AES Tax Update is well known as a detailed update covering not only new tax legislation, regulations, and other guidance, but also recent court cases whose outcomes impact your tax practice. The instructors are experienced CPAs and tax attorneys who consistently receive high marks as seminar leaders. You will receive the slides that the instructor will use (a printed manual if you attend in person or a searchable PDF if you attend online) as well as a PDF of the substantial 14-chapter manual. It is a valuable reference that you will use often during busy season. 

The AES Tax Update seminar counts toward continuing education requirements for CPAs, and for enrolled agents and tax return preparers as 1 hour Federal tax ethics and 7 hours Federal tax update. Some states have state-specific content requirements that will not be covered in this course.

Course level: Update

Prior knowledge required:
Working knowledge of federal income taxation

IRS Program IDs:  MF2AY-E-01111-21-I,O; MF2AY-U-01110-21-I,O
(1 hour ethics, 7 hours federal tax update) 

CFP Program ID:  TBA (8 hours)

CTEC Program ID:  1066-CE-1196
(1 hour ethics, 7 hours federal tax update)

Price:

  • $195 per person
  • $650 Pass for unlimited online-only seminars through February 11, 2022 (for one person)
  • $750 Pass for unlimited online or in-person seminars through February 11, 2022 (for one person)
  • Firm Pass: See the Pass page or call 720-389-5900 for pricing

 


Code Seminar Location Get details or register

AES Year 2021 Tax Update Seminar ONLINE: Instructor and Time Grid

  • All seminar dates taught by a particular instructor are listed horizontally in the row containing the instructor's picture.
  • Seminars that start at the same time are listed vertically in a column, and the header tells you what time the seminar will start and end in various time zones.
  • To register, log in to your account on this website and click on the seminar date below to go to the registration page for that seminar.
Instructor Seminar Time
7:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m. Mountain
which is
9:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Eastern
8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m. Central
6:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m. Pacific
Dates are below
Seminar Time
8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m. Mountain
which is
10:30 a.m.-6:00 p.m. Eastern
9:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Central
7:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m. Pacific
Dates are below
Seminar Time
9:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Mountain
which is
10:00 a.m.-5:30 p.m. Central
8:00 a.m.-3:30 p.m. Pacific
7:00 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Alaska
Dates are below
Seminar Time
9:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Mountain
which is
10:30 a.m.-6:00 p.m. Central
8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m. Pacific
7:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m. Alaska
Dates are below
Mark A. Vogel Mark Vogel #160 Sat, December 4, 2021
#187 Mon, December 13, 2021
#171 Sat, December 18, 2021
#821 Mon, December 20, 2021
#188 Wed, December 22, 2021
#178 Sat, January 8, 2022
#184 Sat, January 22, 2022
#151 Mon, November 15, 2021
#186 Mon, December 6, 2021
#165 Sat, December 11, 2021
#819 Wed, December 15, 2021
#822 Tues, December 21, 2021
#826 Fri, January 7, 2022
#181 Sat, January 15, 2022
#831 Fri, January 21, 2022
#810 Fri, November 5, 2021
#150 Fri, November 12, 2021
#152 Wed, November 17, 2021
#154 Fri, November 19, 2021
#823 Wed, December 22, 2021

10:30 a.m.-6:00 p.m. Mountain
#849 Fri, December 3, 2021
  7:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m. Mountain 8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m. Mountain 9:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Mountain 9:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Mountain
Janine Guillen Janine Guillen #159 Thurs, December 2, 2021
#161 Tues, December 7, 2021
#167 Wed, December 15, 2021
#174 Thurs, January 6, 2022
#180 Fri, January 14, 2022
#156 Tues, November 23, 2021
#158 Tues, November 30, 2021
#169 Thurs, December 16, 2021
#185 Fri, January 28, 2022
  #163 Thurs, December 9, 2021
  7:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m. Mountain 8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m. Mountain 9:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Mountain 9:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Mountain
Isaac Lodico Isaac Lodico #814 Fri, December 3, 2021
#162 Wed, December 8, 2021
#173 Tues, December 21, 2021
#825 Wed, January 5, 2022
#176 Fri, January 7, 2022
#182 Fri, January 21, 2022
#835 Thurs, February 3, 2022
#164 Fri, December 10, 2021
#179 Fri, January 14, 2022
  #170 Fri, December 17, 2021
#833 Thurs, January 27, 2022
  7:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m. Mountain 8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m. Mountain 9:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Mountain 9:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Mountain
Mark Merric Mark Merric #153 Thurs, November 18, 2021
#155 Mon, November 22, 2021
#157 Wed, November 24, 2021
#166 Tues, December 14, 2021
#168 Thurs, December 16, 2021
#175 Thurs, January 6, 2022   #172 Mon, December 20, 2021
#177 Fri, January 7, 2022
#183 Fri, January 21, 2022
  7:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m. Mountain 8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m. Mountain 9:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Mountain 9:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Mountain
Claire O'Neal Claire O'Neal #812 Mon, November 29, 2021
#815 Mon, December 6, 2021
#817 Fri, December 10, 2021
#820 Fri, December 17, 2021
#827 Tues, January 11, 2022
#829 Tues, January 18, 2022
#830 Thurs, January 20, 2022
#832 Tues, January 25, 2022
#811 Tues, November 16, 2021
#816 Wed, December 8, 2021
  #813 Wed, December 1, 2021
#818 Mon, December 13, 2021
#824 Tues, January 4, 2022
#828 Thurs, January 13, 2022
#834 Tues, February 1, 2022

Attend an AES seminar and see why our participants say,

“The real-life cases and decisions were extremely insightful.”

“Great! Well balanced program and I learned techniques I will use in my practice.”

“It was fascinating!”

“The material covered is applicable to a wide range of clients.”

“This is the best class I have taken in 30 years of practice!”

 

Upcoming Internet Courses

Please wait while the upcoming seminars are loaded...


Contact Us

Accountant's Education Services
4380 S Syracuse St Ste 110
Denver, Colorado 80237
720-389-5900 · Fax 720-708-3246
info@aestax.com

Copyright 2021 by Tax Education Services